Heriot’s Rugby Annual Awards 2018-19

Posted on

At the stunning setting of Prestonfield House we welcomed a tremendous 275 guests to this year’s annual dinner on Friday 10 May. Our guests included both former and current players, members, our partners at Stew Mel, sponsors and many other friends.

Our MC, Willie Hunter, was joined on stage over the course of the evening by Colin McCallum (Club President), Phil Smith (Head Coach), Iain Wilson (1st XV Captain) and our main guest speaker; former South African Internationalist and all round great guy; Bobby Skinstad.

One of the highlights of the evening was the awards for the last season and we are delighted to announce the following awards:-

President’s Award – Alan Barclay, for fantastic volunteer services to our clubhouse & bar.

Most Improved Player – Alex Ball (in absentia)

Young Player of the Year – Innes Hill (in absentia)

3rd XV Player of the Year – Calum Davidson (in absentia)

2nd XV Player of the Year – Graham Wilson

1st XV Player of the Year – Iain Wilson

We also recognised our 15 internationalists:-
Scotland International Under 18s: Scott King

Scotland International Under 20s: Jack Blain, Charlie Jupp & Rory McMichael

Scotland Women’s International: Annabel Sergeant & Emma Wassell (in absentia)

Scotland Club International:Struan Cessford, Stuart Edwards, Jason Hill, Ruairidh Leishman, Michael Liness

With 1st Caps for: Robert Kay, Jack McClean, Andrew Simmers & Iain Wilson
Congratulations to all our award winners!

With special thanks to James Thomson and all the staff at Prestonfield House for allowing us to host our dinner at such a fantastic venue and to our sponsor for the evening, Golden Acre Foods.